Dust and dirt and fumes

Dawn.  Four hours by the side of the road.  How do you say ‘bathroom’ in Portuguese? The back of a truck.  Crowds.  Portuguese buns.  Another few hours by the side of the road.  The midday sun.  No, really, how do you say ‘bathroom’ in Portuguese?  Another truck, this time a seat up front.  Dirt roads.  A whisky-drinking driver.   Imprecise calculations.  Safer to get out or stay in?  Dirt in my hair.  Someone stepped on my toe.  Someone stepped on my hand.  3 and 4 am departure times.  Why doesn’t my guidebook have the portuguese translation for ‘bathroom’?  Women with babies.  Chickens and rice in my lap.  More imprecise calculations.  Are there more chickens or babies on this truck?  Darkness sets.  Repeat. Repeat again.

This is public transport in Mozambique.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Dust and dirt and fumes”

  1. In Search of Perfect says :

    Love your adventure stories and your sense of humor! 🙂

  2. Engelsman in Afrika says :

    You are a brave one for ‘risking’ public transport in Mozambique. Just in case you still haven’t found the bathroom

    “a casa de banho” – pronounced a cazza day ban-yoh 🙂

    • Megan says :

      Thanks for the help! I tried out banho yesterday but it didn’t seem to get me very far – maybe I need to work on my pronunciation…

Leave a Reply

