‘Kigoma is where Tanzania ends’

Kigoma is a small city in a remote region in northwestern Tanzania.  According to this article, Kigoma is where Tanzania ends.  Geographically, the city is located on the edge of the country at the end of the national railway line.  It’s somehow fitting, then, that Kigoma is also my last stop in Tanzania before I cross the border into Rwanda.

Kigoma is red earth and palm trees and emerald lake water.  I’ve spent the past five days lounging on red beaches, hanging out with zebras, swimming in Lake Taganyika, getting caught in rainstorms, and exploring muddy roads with friends from Dar.

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “‘Kigoma is where Tanzania ends’”

  1. Barbra & Jack Donachy says :

    Thanks for posting your beautiful photographs. I’m interested in seeing places all over the world I would like to visit someday.
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

    • Megan says :

      Thanks for the nice comment! I’m interested in visiting the Arctic Circle one day…

      • roamingtheworld says :

        I’m jealous you made it to Kigoma. I went all the way to Dodoma to take the train to Gombe and was told it was booked for the next 2 months. I later learned I should have been more persistent. I then spent a few hours in the afternoon playing charades regarding buses and when I returned in the morning to go, was told, there wasn’t a bus. Needless to say, I returned 2 days later to Moshi, where I had been staying for several weeks!
        Sounds like it wasn’t that difficult for you to get there! woo.

      • Megan says :

        We cheated a bit and flew from Dar. The flights have been running for about the past year but it seems really really difficult to get there by bus or train…

      • roamingtheworld says :

        That was smart. Very smart. I didn’t even think to fly (don’t think I realized there were flights) and I also was trying to take local transport as much as possible.

      • Megan says :

        If it makes you feel better, there probably weren’t flights then. I think they have only resumed flights in the past few months…I hear you about local transport. I would rather have done that. But it didn’t seem possible with Kigoma.

  2. Meghan Johnson says :

    Such gorgeous photos. It must have been a wonderful five days for you. Yet another reason for me to visit Tanzania some day!

Leave a Reply

