Can you hear it?

I have been looking forward to Sauti za Busara since I found out I was moving to Tanzania, and I have had Nneka’s song ‘Heartbeat’ set to repeat all day.  Next weekend I intend to be in the front row when this amazing woman brings down the Old Fort in Stonetown.

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Can you hear it?”

  1. k Elizabeth says :

    Wow, love it! She’s amazing!

  2. BoundforAdventure says :

    I will see you there!! Can’t wait for this amazing festival 🙂 Also, any recommendations for Dar? I will be spending about a week there- thanks!!!

    • Megan says :

      Hi Maia,

      Can’t wait for next weekend!

      I have tons of recommendations for Dar. Here are a few:
      -best restaurants: Rohobot (Ethiopian – I am here at least once a week), Khana Khazana (Indian), and Mamboz (Tanzanian / best grilled meat you will ever have).
      -best beach: Mbudya Island (accessible via ferry from the White Sands Hotel, in my opinion it is better than the beaches on Zanzibar)
      -you should definitely wander around Kariakoo market, which is the largest open air market in East Africa and try to find the street where the Kitenges are sold, amazing fabrics.
      -best place in Dar for a drink on the ocean is Slipway.

      Let me know if you have any questions! Have a great time.

  3. BoundforAdventure says :

    Reblogged this on Bound for Adventure and commented:
    Looks like me and fellow blogger Megan will be jamming out at Sauti za Busara, a huge music festival in Zanzibar next weekend. I can’t wait for this amazing experience!!

  4. Axel Pliopas says :

    Oh my god! I didn’t know about her, but she’s really amazing… and I really love the drums in this music! 🙂 🙂 Such a nice energy for today, I really needed it, thank you!!!!! 🙂

  5. Kim says :

    Awesome song. I just purchased the remix featuring Nas.

  6. BoundforAdventure says :

    Megan!! I am flying into DAR today and will be there for the entire week. Do you have any recommendations for non-sketchy places to grab a drink? My email is maia_usmc at yahoo.com. Email if you can…perhaps we can grab a drink and talk about blogging!!! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

