The places in between

This past weekend, almost by accident, my parents, my brother, and I all found ourselves in Tanzania.

My parents arrived in East Africa in late September, planning to visit me in Dar towards the end of their trip. A few weeks after they left home, my brother received an unexpected job offer in Edmonton, quit his job in Eastern Canada, and booked a last minute ticket to Tanzania.

We met in Zanzibar on Friday night and decided to fly to Selous for the weekend.  Selous is a UNESCO world heritage site and the largest conservation reserve in the world.  Early on Saturday morning, we boarded a small unsteady plane and landed on a tiny airstrip set amidst the jungle.

Selous is a landscape of blue, green, and brown, where life and death have entered into an uneasy alliance.  Piles of bones are abandoned on the brown earth; carcasses of elephants, hippos, and giraffes picked clean and bleached white under the strong midday sun.  Birds soar out of trees, fantastic flashes of black, green, orange, and yellow, while blue butterflies flutter near the ground.  Lizards play hide-and-seek in elephant skulls. Grey branches litter the ground, bone dry and twisted into impossible skeletal shapes. Herds of impala kick nervously while giraffe float above the trees and appear to defy time.

A thousand stories a day unfold against the backdrop of the East African sky.

On Saturday morning, we ran into a half-eaten giraffe and, a few feet away, a pride of lions were lazily digesting their breakfast.  By Sunday morning, the giraffe had disappeared. Later, we found it being finished off  by a pack of hyenas, one of whom ran away with the giraffe’s leg in his mouth.  Another passed by our car with trails of blood running out of his mouth.  Later still, some vultures made a meal out of the giraffe’s ribs.

On Saturday afternoon, we found a newborn baby impala being guarded by its mother.  It is about two hours old, our guide said, and will learn to walk in the next few hours.  These first few hours are the most difficult, because the baby impala is helpless against predators.  As if to demonstrate this point, the impala’s mother hissed at us to leave her baby alone and we retreated.

We drove on through the trees and stopped at another pride pride of lions.  This time we were impossibly, fearfully close.  Alone in the jungle with lions that were close enough to touch.  We watched the two small cubs play with twigs, playfully stretch out on their backs, scratch the trees to sharpen their nails.  Our guide explained that we were not appealing to the lions and that we smelled of rubber and exhaust.  This did not sound very reassuring and I hoped that the lions would not become hungry or angry. After many moments, the lions got up, walked past the car, and disappeared into the jungle.

We were lucky to find a family of wild dogs sleeping under a tree.  Panting in the afternoon heat and curled up in the shade.  There are only a few hundred of these dogs remaining in the world and most of them live in Selous.  The puppies do not have a high survival rate, and are frequently eaten by the hyenas.

On Saturday night we slept in tents on the edge of the Rufiji river.  The camp has eight tents and no fence.  It is guarded by members of the Maasai tribe who are armed with spears.  All night long, we listened to the low, flat grunt of hippos in the river, the splash of the water buffalo, and the high-pitched squeal of the cicada.  In the morning, a hippo wandered out of the river and sidled up to the camp to chew on some grass.

I have long been skeptical of safari vacations.  Africa is a diverse and fascinating continent that is too often reduced to its animals and exploited in the name of adventure.  I would rather learn about Tanzania by sitting in a small cafe in Stonetown, drinking spiced coffee, eating chapatis, and watching the people walk by.

And, yet, there is no denying that last weekend was magical, offering a rare glimpse into another world, one where a baby impala gasps its first breath, where lions feast on a giraffe under the shade of a tree, and where human presence is rendered insignificant.

Life, death, and everything in between.

The beauty and the agony.

Tags: , , ,

198 responses to “The places in between”

  1. Cat Irons says :

    Beautiful words and photos, Megan! xo

  2. CM says :

    Wow Megan, those images are incredible. Thank you so much for sharing – you have made a dreary, greay and work filled Vancouver day much more interesting, enjoyable and exotic! How neat to have your entire family there to experience it.

  3. mwilliscroft says :

    So amazing. I was surprised to hear (somewhere, can’t remember from where) that hippos are extremely dangerous….

    • Megan says :

      Yes, they are really dangerous. I was a bit worried about getting into a boat in the river with all of them. The one that came into our camp just ignored us all because he was fixated on the grass.

      • HobbitSteve says :

        What an amazing experience that must have been!

      • Alison Warner says :

        Once upon a time in Botswana:My shortsighted friend once got up in the middle of the night and seeing “cows” on the grass in the garden went out and booted one in the backside, luckily it waddled off, the nightwatchman who had climbed a tree in terror when the hippos arrived told the whole village and she was an instant legend locally…in fairness she had recently arrived. They say you must never get between a hippo and the river it panics them and then they get aggressive. lemonaday

    • morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer says :

      …and I always thought they were so chubby and cuddly that I started a collection of them. Glass, wood, ceramic, whatever appealed. Now I discover that they’re not so cute and cuddly after all. What can I collect next?

      Ronnie

  4. ange says :

    Oh my gosh – I am going to be absolutely terrified of the lions!!!

  5. Mikalee Byerman says :

    I do love how you all “almost by accident” found yourselves in Tanzania — I’ll bet that’s the first time that sentence has ever been written!

    Beautiful pix…

    🙂

  6. cravesadventure says :

    Beautiful Photos – thanks for sharing!

  7. Constance V. Walden says :

    Beautiful photos. When I see the lions, I get stressed; but, when I see the hyenas, I get the shivers. Those are some cruel beasts. They’ll eat you alive. Thanks for sharing. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  8. Angles of Secrets says :

    Beautiful photographs! I loved looking at them on my laptop and then seeing the rain fall out of my windows. Makes me realize just a click away there is a world so different than mine. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Yatin says :

    “Our guide explained that we were not appealing to the lions and that we smelled of rubber and exhaust.”
    Thanks for the tip. I’ll remember this on my trip to African wilderness.
    With rubber & smoke you were not appealing for appetite! Is there anything that triggers annoyance for an attack? Just to cover all bases.
    Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

    • Alison Warner says :

      It annoys them when humans steal the back end of a carcass they haven’t finished…..trust me the San (bushmen) do do this, the last bit the lions eat are the hindquarters which for us are the best bit. I have slept in a tent in Botswana and in the morning found lion footprints one metre from the tent. We tracked it in the Landcruiser and found a massive blackmaned male resting further upstream; in some places you could not do that safely however. Always check local knowledge on what the lions are mostly eating that day!! Alison Lemonaday

  10. H-Bomb says :

    Awesome post and spectacular photos! A safari is an amazing experience. I’m jealous that you got to see a hippo that wasn’t 90% submerged in the water. 🙂

  11. Arindam says :

    Beautifully written post. Not to forget these photographs. They are really beautiful Thank you for making us part of this tour.

  12. myzuriart says :

    Amazing Love Your Photos!!!!

  13. Java Girl says :

    What amazing pictures! Great photos and thanks so much for sharing your experience!

  14. Dounia says :

    Great post and really beautiful photos. It must be a wonderful experience to see all that. Thanks for sharing and congrats on being freshly pressed!

  15. Im Dating A One-Percenter says :

    I visited Dar es Salaam in 2004 and fell in love with it!! I then hopped over to Zanzibar and fell more in love with Tanzania. Love the photos-they remind me of an amazing trip!!! Great blog!!! I can share my photos with you if you’d like!!

  16. Jess Banuelos says :

    incredible. i am jealous.

  17. Malou Prestado says :

    I love the blog and your beautiful pictures!

  18. jessicadelellis says :

    Great photos!!

  19. badlandsbadley says :

    Great pictures. This post makes me very jealous. Very jealous. On an unrelated note, the last picture of the lion shows exactly how I’ve felt all day.

    Man, I need a safari.

  20. Cassie says :

    So hyenas really do look like The Lion King.

  21. valentinedee says :

    Outstanding. I loved how you all ended up in Tanzania. what a story. And your pics are just out of this world. You did an amazing job taking the closeups. Great post.

    Val
    http://valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  22. jingerventures says :

    Amazing pictures! I love the yawn shot of the lion. Brings back my memories of my safari in the Serengeti, Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater.

  23. kristieenriquez says :

    I wanna go there!

  24. Eileen黃愛玲 says :

    Wow, I agree. What a magical weekend. I really enjoyed this post – thank you for sharing. 😀

  25. deezahoney says :

    Oh my – just beautiful. Your photographs and written descriptions, both. Thanks for sharing them.

  26. Rae says :

    Looks like an amazing trip!

  27. thundergoes says :

    This is so lovely! I was so captivated by the photos and the story, and this is now on my (long) list of places I’d love to visit someday. Your writing style is nice, too; very descriptive. Nice job!

  28. thepainterspalate says :

    You captured some amazing photo’s of these beautiful animals! Love the giraffe photo, and the lion.

  29. soyouwanna says :

    Gorgeous! Reminds me of my trip to Maasai Mara and Lake Nakuru. I wish I could go back!!

    http://www.sywsoyouwanna.com

  30. bananabatman says :

    A great story and some lovely photos.

  31. aFrankAngle says :

    Outstanding post as the ending says it all. Well done.

  32. hellenjc says :

    Great job ! The way the 3 giraffes are standing made me think “see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil” 🙂

  33. Barb says :

    Thanks. I needed to get out of the house and go to Selous. I appreciate the pictures. Remind me to spritz with Eau de Rubber and Exhaust when I'[m tromping through the jungle.

  34. agermaningroningen says :

    Amazing, breathtaking. 🙂

  35. Blood-Ink-Diary says :

    Megan, your photo-essay took me back to my city Dar! I have relished looking through your lens – a part of my memories in Tanzania. Thanks for the post!

  36. UponAtlas says :

    I love the giraffes!!!

    🙂

    uponatlas.

  37. Balsillie & Associates says :

    Great pictures! Fantastic

  38. hermitsdoor says :

    Nice set of photos and commentary. I have been watching for posts on Africa. We are planning a trip to southern Africa in a year. Thanks, Oscar

  39. Emily Warren says :

    This is all around pretty amazing.

  40. Dr. Afaq Ahmad Qureshi says :

    Abundance of lion pictures tell us how we all are fascinated with this majestic animal. All the pictures are excellent and the write up is absorbing. Thanks.

  41. papipnarong says :

    ถ่ายรูปได้งดงามมากครับชอบ

  42. My Camera, My Friend says :

    I love the giraffe photo and the adorable impala baby.

  43. barcncpt44 says :

    Nice pictures. This is something I would love to do someday.

  44. forksandspoons92 says :

    This is absolutely beautiful, thank you for sharing your experience so people like myself can feel like we leave the house. 😛

  45. Phelios Cyros says :

    Amazingly put.. Well done, Megan!!

  46. Adie says :

    Wow! I’m still a baby and a baby photographer. I wish I can be like you when I grow up! xo, Adie

  47. franzsfeaturedfotos~Photography by: Peggy Franz says :

    I love this!! I am so jealous!! Beautiful:)

  48. speckledlamb1993 says :

    I enjoy photography (even at my beginner stage) and African wildlife…your photos put the two of them together beautifully! I especially liked your giraffe and hippo pics.
    I’m new to the world of blogging and thought I’d get acquainted with others on wordpress. I’m glad I came across your site! 🙂

  49. sheokhanda says :

    I really liked your post and more importantly the pics…

  50. in piccioletta barca says :

    che meraviglia!

  51. eyeLaugh says :

    Holy crap. Breathtaking pictures. The animals are gorgeous.

  52. sirarmany says :

    so rare to see hipo on a ground, lucky you if you even can see their ears pocking out,feels like really lucky let alone on the ground grazing.

  53. syedjafffarabbas says :

    thank you so much for sharing . you have made more interesting, enjoyable and exotic! How neat to have your entire family there to experience it.

  54. easytodepress says :

    It is truly awesome that you got up close and personal with those animals. I would love to do that some day!

  55. everyonelovesacookie says :

    The word ‘stunning’ does not do these photos justice. It is really wonderful that you were able to capture such images and share them with us.

  56. leeschmidt says :

    Hyenas are so scary! And huge! And they make funny sounds.

    Great shots!

  57. endiosconfiamos says :

    amazing photographs 🙂

  58. emquiltingwordpress says :

    Wow! Your shots are great!

  59. yurtdışı dil eğitimi says :

    ıts a different experience.

  60. Michele LMS says :

    Beautifully written with stunning photos! . . . You were really “up close and personal” with these wonderful animals! Thank you for sharing your adventure!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  61. Rosy says :

    Wow…. nice click.

  62. muymia says :

    Beautiful post, Africa is such a wonderland!
    Beautiful images too! Go on with your blog & if you like you can also visit mine http://www.muymia.com
    Big kiss & have a nice day in Tanzania!

  63. friendlymedia01 says :

    Wow! All photographs are amazing. Great work..

  64. rf401 says :

    Really beautiful shots, congrats on being pressed

  65. PeopleSense Consulting LLC says :

    I agree with all the others who have commented — these photos are amazing and I loved the way you told the story of your weekend. Thank you for sharing and congrats on FP!

  66. dressupforme says :

    So cool and so jealous that you coudl see it all live. My far seen animals where on teh nature channel 😀

    And the teeth of a yawning “kitty”…OMG… would not like to put my hand anywhere near that mouth! 😀 Even if it looks super soft.

    http://dressupforme.wordpress.com/

  67. intomind says :

    wow amazing pictures. you were so close!

  68. dancingbeastie says :

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! Your photos are truly astonishing and you write beautifully too. I wondered if you are aware that the title you have chosen for this lovely post comes from a book by Rory Stewart? ‘The Places in Between’ for him were in rural Afghanistan, which he crossed alone, on foot, a few years ago. You might enjoy his story, I think.

  69. activeeducator says :

    I really like your story about your trip to this amazing place ,I am an English teacher an I have a unit talking about endangered animals .I will give my students your blog link to read this nice page.

  70. jcabsep says :

    Great post and adventure!

  71. Ashley Durance says :

    Fantastic post!!! This immediately caught my eye when it came up on my feed. My husband and I spent 2 weeks in Tanzania on our honeymoon last January… we flew into Dar and took Coastal Aviation to Tanga. My Grandfather lives in Tanga, he owns Capricorn Beach Cottages (have you ever been/heard of it?). SO nice to read another post about E. Africa when we are missing it so much! Thank you, I’ll be following!

  72. jacobscottmoore says :

    This is awesome! Love the pictures, and you’re a wonderful writer, too. Thank you for the post and congratulations with the Freshly Pressed!

    http://jacobscottmoore.wordpress.com/

  73. Boodoomoo says :

    Amazing photos! Congratson being FP!

  74. Mike says :

    Amazing photos and loved your description!

  75. corneliamladenova says :

    Great photos, many thanks for sharing 🙂

  76. mediaudio says :

    This story is too awesome, it belongs in a movie! Thanks for sharing it with such a great post – and congrats on being freshly pressed!

  77. Delia says :

    Amazing photographs! Thank you for sharing those…I stumbled on your blog from freshly pressed.

  78. Habitual Traveler says :

    Amazing, its on my list to do a Africian Safari. It was very inspiring, you moved it up a few notches.

  79. sis adinugroho says :

    nice pic n good jobs

  80. Romantic Asian Guy says :

    I like your adventure! Your writing is so descriptive with wonderful imagery–I can get a clear picture in my head without your photos, although the images add nicely to the experience.

    Congrats on heading off into the wild:)

  81. Renee Rowell says :

    Wonderful pictures and well written! What an amazing adventure!

    Thanks for sharing, & congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

  82. Kenneth Mark Hoover says :

    Such amazing photos! I liked the wild dogs a lot and the hippo was cool, too. Great stuff!

  83. rissaroma says :

    wow this is amazing !

  84. thespectatorssport.wordpress.com/ says :

    The pic of the hyena with the giraffes leg in it’s mouth is sad but still a very good photo! You’re so lucky to have gone on a real safari!I think everyone should go on one, and then realize that environmental preservation is not just important, it’s IMPERATIVE! 🙂

  85. marcuz11 says :

    A very well written piece. I love the way your words just flow…… and without too much effort. You are a pro writer…… I’m just a budding one. Great tale of my home in East Africa…. I absolutely love wildlife….. especially African wildlife. Good job

  86. emilyfarquhar says :

    Love your photos! I’ve always wanted to go to Africa!

  87. cynsglobe says :

    Incredible and amazing pictures – what an experience!

  88. Barbara Rodgers says :

    Stunning, breathtaking pictures!

  89. Don says :

    Great tale and wonderful photos. I spent a couple of years working at the Kariba Dam on the Zambezi River 1969/71 and always wanted to go back there. We had many hippo – they would pop up beside the boat and snort at us. They kill more people than the lions do.

    cheers – Don

  90. Dr. Steve Smiley says :

    I absolutely loved your pictures good for you for living and working with mother nature. The safari’s seem absolutely amazing too! Stay safe though!

  91. Lonnie says :

    Beautiful images of the animals. I especially like the giraffes. Thanks for sharing and congrats on the FP!

  92. Red Toenails says :

    Great photos. Loved the lions best.

  93. raelamink says :

    Amazing photos! Definitely looks like a place I would want to visit someday 🙂

  94. Gerald says :

    Really awe inspiring. I would love to go on a safari one day. That lion looks like the guy with the color shades on the Beatles. LOL

  95. seabeegirl says :

    Incredible pics! I especially loved the ones of the baby impala and the hippo eating the grass. Hippos are such strange-looking creatures- esp up close like that! Congrats!

  96. quyhuynh says :

    wow! It’s beautifull! Thanks you!

  97. Shaaban Fundi says :

    So nice to read about my home land and the best safaris it offers on earth. Hope you are having so much fun in Tanzania.

  98. Natasha says :

    Love the giraffe photo! (the live ones, not their pieces with the hyena, haha). Congrats!

  99. whistlebloweraustralia says :

    I love your photos. How talented you are. Thank you.

  100. EL says :

    I love your Pictures! Africa is really amazing!

    you can check out my African journey + photography HERE

    ps – congrats on being FP’ed : )

  101. thoughtpaul says :

    I could of used some pics with giraffes in it lately. I see some brilliant potential for using giraffes to do landscaping, especially up in those tall trees. Check it out when you have the chance.

    http://thoughtpaul.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/amazing-combination-potential-the-series-part-2-lambscaping-with-giraffes/

  102. Manoj says :

    Great post, nice photos.Thanks for sharing.

  103. The Hook says :

    What an amazing “accident”!
    Great work!

  104. xpat92 says :

    Incredible shots! Patience does pay out in the end.
    Keep up the great work. 🙂

  105. arcticwl says :

    i love each and every shot in this entry, they all wonderful photos.and thanks for sharing!

  106. cheapyummyshiny says :

    That is just wonderful. I’ve wanted to visit Africa, and the culture will draw me, but the wildlife would keep me there a bit longer! Thank you!

  107. yourawfulpictures says :

    OMG SO PRETTYFULLL! love lions and giraffes. not together lol they eat one another

  108. Guillaume Internoscia says :

    Wow its wanderful, it make me think of the book: Les racines du ciel by Romain Gary. The yenna’s are my favorite cause they look so meen. East- Africa seem really different then West-Africa I dont see this kind of wildlife around me write now, only donkey, goat, cows and sheep.

  109. Daniel says :

    Wow, fantastic photos of the lions! And I’m very glad that you, not I, were close enough to take them.

  110. novakmar says :

    Слова “Занзибар” , “джунгли” -это что-то далекое, с привкусом приключений. Но это и есть ваше приключение. В дикой природе животные в своей стихии. Их естественная жизнь. Это так интересно. Наверное, вызывает необыкновенные чувства ситуация , когда рядом такие большие сильные животные. Фотографии крупным планом. Просто чудо!

  111. discoverability says :

    love your photos so much

  112. appletraveler says :

    Wonderful share! Always wanted to do my own wild life adventure .. #envy

  113. becomingcliche says :

    What an incredible post! I am so glad you made Freshly Pressed!

  114. wildliferemovalny says :

    Amazing wildlife photos.

  115. Renju says :

    Felt like being in a real jungle with your words and pictures, lived through it. We could see many possibilities for writing such kind of travelogs and i guess that’s why WordPress freshly pressed your post, seeing its naturalistic and adventurous impact. Loved it. Good work Megan.

  116. giselzitrone says :

    Beautiful schöne Fotos best regards Gislinde.http.://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

  117. Pinganillos says :

    I feel great envy, I am a veterinarian and would give anything to live on this site, beautiful pictures

    Adolf Pinganillos

  118. themoviesandme says :

    Amazing photos – make me so homesick for Africa!

  119. Sally says :

    Truly reminiscent of experiencing a dream, your magnificent post.
    I look forward to more.

  120. roddyjohn says :

    Great job,love the photos.Thank you.John

  121. Rishabh says :

    A very nice and insightful ending to the article, “Life, death, and everything in between.”

  122. Anonymous says :

    Gorgeous photos. For those in the US, you can see the exact same animals roaming free on over 4 acres of the drive through Lion Country Safari in West Palm Beach, Florida.

    The animals (Over 900 of them) are roaming all around your car (windows up by necessity, of course) and often giraffes and lions, etc. will be in the road in front of you so necessary to stop and wait for THEM.

    Only way to see these animals close-up in the US without going to Africa, etc.

  123. Anonymous says :

    Sorry, meant to write that it is 4 MILES, not 4 acres.

    Thanks.

  124. danbacana says :

    “I would rather learn about Tanzania by sitting in a small cafe in Stonetown, drinking spiced coffee, eating chapatis, and watching the people walk by.”

    hehe. 😀

  125. atmaja08 says :

    great and beautiful place, thank for sharing.

  126. Audrey Cary says :

    Wow, I just came across your blog, and I love it. These photos are fantastic. I have a special love for Africa and even studied Swahili in college, but I’ve never been there. For now I’ll live vicariously through your blog!

  127. hexagon888 says :

    heyy , i really really love the pictures . i love it

  128. Aadarsh says :

    Great pictures. I love photography but I’m new to it. please visit here : http://fujifilmhs20.wordpress.com/

  129. poppiesandlilieslifestyle says :

    Beautiful Photos x

  130. saveoursoulafrica says :

    the pictures are incredible..those are very nice shots………..

  131. gaycarboys says :

    You just want to cuddle the big pussy cats. Of course they would take your head off at the shoulders, but a small price to pay. I notice the aircraft has the loading strut at the rear to stop it from tipping up if there is more weight in the back than the front. Great shots.

  132. tikic96 says :

    Wow,I really enjoy it . I want to be a wet someday and I want to go there to see this animals and nature. This photos are amazing and incredible. 🙂

  133. davidstrachan611 says :

    I worked in Kenya for six years. Someone would say, What about going up Mt Kenya? and someone else would say When? and a couple of weeks later we would be slogging our way up the Vertical Bog and along Teleki Valley to Top Hut. That’s the effect Africa has on you. Distance and difficulties shrink away. Like the Italian prisoners who ‘escaped’ and using the map on a tin of pineapples climbed up to Point Lenana then returned to their prison camp. The tendency in this country is to point out the difficulties when some exciting activity is suggested and spend months in the planning of it. Safety first isn’t really the best motto. Like you I think it’s a great continent.

  134. ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit says :

    Great photos! I love animals!

  135. victoriaamandaalexander says :

    These pictures are so amazing. massively jealous you’ve been that up close and personal!

  136. raymondolivercruz says :

    Your photos are wonderful. I believe you’re a gifted blogger!

  137. Shadow says :

    OMG! I loved the yawning tigress x3

  138. emmanuel de jesus says :

    estupendas fotos y buen aporte, me encanta ver los animales y los programas de documentales como el discovery y animal planet y algun dia espero que dios me permita visitar esos lugares para ver esos animales en persona claro que medio retiradito si no quisiera parar en la boca de un rey de la selva es decir un leon. buen aporte felicidades.

  139. gabyp2006 says :

    Amazing photos!! Great

  140. charlesbooksaready says :

    I love animal photography. Your arrangement is tremendous. Thanks for sharing them.

  141. VivianeGuimarães says :

    Beautiful blog and pictures. Congratulations.

  142. VivianeGuimarães says :

    Beautiful!!

  143. ClaireMcA says :

    What a dream, my 8 year old son was walking out the door and refused to leave until he had seen all your photos, he is so obsessed with Africa he used to tell people when he was 4 or 5 years old that he was born there. I am sure he will one day, thanks for sharing your reality, truely a living dream.

  144. GullringstorpGoatGal says :

    Hej from Sweden,
    Wow what fantastic photos!!!
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  145. adarshatwar says :

    Hi Megan,

    These shots are excellent! Very pro-like. You must have had a great time too.

  146. Guled Moha Moha says :

    beuatiful photo , I know, Tanzania is good place.

  147. Yannique Benitez says :

    Amazing photos, especially the tiger with it’s mouth open, wow!

  148. Dee says :

    Your photos are spectacular! I really enjoyed looking at them.

  149. sophiaharcourt says :

    I would love to visit Africa. Mainly because of my love of African elephants. Til then I may just have to experience Africa through your blog. I did recently get the opportunity to see an elephant up close through my job. I was unfortunately not able to share any of the photos on my blog per the zoo’s request. It is amazing to be near to such animals..not sure how I would feel to be so close to a lion. I look forward to exploring your blog.

  150. Karen says :

    Stunning photos! Beautifully written.

  151. Sam Luigi says :

    Spectacular! Thanks for sharing.

  152. ssweston says :

    My bucket list is getting bigger and bigger. Soon I will need to use a pool.

  153. Chaks says :

    Thanks Megan for this nice post, those images are incredible.

  154. havesomething2say says :

    thanx for taking us with you on this wonderful journey.

  155. Amelia says :

    Great writing to accompany super photos!

  156. Tisha Clinkenbeard says :

    Amazing pictures. I love giraffes and those were especially cool.

  157. Bagpack Taveller says :

    WoW, Wooow and Wooooowww!!!

    Simply AMAZING!!! I love it! I’m enjoing too much the last picture. The face speaks volumes! love it!

    I also have a travelling and photography blog Bagpack Traveller. Just take a look if you want 😉

  158. thebigbookofdating says :

    what lovely photos! (:

  159. Green Mama says :

    wow I have never seen a actual hyena (I probably spelled that wrong!) very interesting colors, but awesome pics!

  160. mimers66 says :

    I found this so moving. I get lost in my little world sometimes, but there is so much more to this amazing world we live in. So many other lives out there so different from my own. While I read it for those few minutes I let my imagination take me there.

  161. Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface says :

    Hyenas always give me the creeps, ever since I watched a documentary program about them. Great photos. It definitely sounds like a life changing trip.

  162. fbafrica says :

    The beauty and originality of your experience is amazing. How Tanzania translates its resources into human development is being watched and hopefully the tourism industry will help lift the unfortunate ones.

  163. rjpalli says :

    Amazing, very nice description and stunning photos. I imaginged myself being there. thanks for sharing and blogging.

  164. worldartt says :

    Wow, these are great pictures! The animal shots are really beautiful.

    Check out http://www.worldart.photoshelter.com for sites around the world. I really enjoyed this photographer’s work as well. No animal photos, but the views are great from a few different places around the world.

  165. yeahnup says :

    What a lovely impromptu family trip. The animals are beautiful, I especially love that ambitious hyena.

  166. Sisterhood of the Traveling Military Pants says :

    You just lived out a dream of mine and your pictures are exactly how I imagined! Thank you so much.

  167. desireunleashed says :

    Wow! Thank you so much for sharing the magic of your vacation… especially the fantastic and unique photos. So great and global… I will admit, I’m a bit jealous, it sounds so amazing!

  168. adamoc5 says :

    Very nice words and photos ❤

  169. copycatmom says :

    Love the photo’s, especially the wild dogs. They are so beautiful!

  170. thatvoiceagain says :

    Some amazing photographs.

  171. Alexandra says :

    those photos are really cool. I’ve never actually seen a giraffe up close, a photograph is as close as I’ve ever gotten. you’re quite lucky to have seen them! god bless you and happy new year!

    -Alexandra

  172. sekx says :

    love the way you write. This post is juicy 😀

  173. gaycarboys says :

    You want give the cats a pat, but they’d take your hand off in a single swipe. Great shots though

  174. Cafe23 says :

    Omg that lion yawning is the best! All the pics are amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

