Zanzibar had me at the coffee

On Saturday, ER and I woke up at 5 am to catch the 7 am ferry to Zanzibar.  After checking into our hotel, I dragged ER to the first coffee house that I could find.  Nescafe is only edible when one is truly desperate and I have been without decent coffee for weeks now.

I took a sip of the coffee and fell instantly in love with Zanzibar.  Zanzibarian coffee is spiced with cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, and chilli pepper.  It is served in cafes nestled amongst Stone Town’s maze-like alleyways and by vendors who set up at street corners at dusk and pour their brew into little glass cups.

I like the spiced coffee best with a little steamed milk in a cafe that overlooks the Indian Ocean.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Zanzibar had me at the coffee”

  1. CM says :

    I have always wanted to go to Zanzibar. I read an M.M. Kaye mystery novel when I was a teen called Death in Zanzibar and her descriptions of Zanzibar have been with me ever since. Thanks for bringing me just a a little bit closer. (And glad to hear that you managed some truly excellent sounding coffee!)

    • Megan says :

      I just googled that book. The description sounds hilarious. I love the “gasp!” at the thought of this woman traveling alone to Zanzibar:

      “This is a 1950s British murder mystery with a bit of romance thrown in for good measure. Dany Ashton is traveling alone (gasp!) to meet her stepfather and mother at the family home in Zanzibar. She stays in a hotel overnight in London before flying out, gets accidentally locked out of her room, meets a man in the hallway who assists her only to find that her room has been ransacked, someone has stolen her passport and planted murder evidence there. Dany tells Lash (who is on a drunken binge) and he helps her by allowing her to use his secretary’s passport, airline seat and accommodations to Zanzibar. They color and cut her hair and away they go…”

Leave a Reply

