Hello, Dar

I have officially made it to Dar, but I am still reeling from the flight(s).  The entire journey took about thirty hours and by the time I arrived this morning I was tired, grumpy, and sweaty. When I arrived at my hotel I was told that there was no electricity today and that showers would not be available for another few hours.  Thankfully the generator has now kicked in and I am feeling a bit more refreshed.

CU, another lawyer who works for the CBA in East Africa, took me out for dinner and introduced me to some of her friends.  We had dinner on the peninsula overlooking the Indian Ocean.  Even in my exhausted and sweaty state it was pretty spectacular.  CU and her friends also gave me a lot of good advice about finding apartments, avoiding purse-snatchers, and coping with the heat.  Although it was about 18 degrees here at 9 am this morning, they tell me that this is the coldest it has been in Dar for years and that it is just going to get hotter and hotter until it feels unbearable.

K, one of CU’s friends, is going to come by tomorrow to help me get my cell phone unlocked and maybe check out some apartments near her place.  It is so nice to have already met some people here!

Since I took a nap this afternoon, I don’t have any pictures of Dar yet.  But here are some pictures of the hotel where I’m staying.

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Hello, Dar”

  1. LG says :

    I have been thinking of you friend! And of course, missing you already. So glad to hear that you’ve arrived safely. Can’t wait for more updates!

  2. mwilliscroft says :

    Yay! you made it! Are you staying in the 2-person rooms? I can’t wait to see more pics of Dar (hint).

  3. CM says :

    Glad to hear that you have arrived safely! Wishing you good fotune in getting settled – may setting up your new apartment be less stressful than packing up your old one!

  4. AC says :

    So glad you made it – Vancouver misses you!

Leave a Reply

